Skip to content

I had a dream (or, a poem revisited)

November 6, 2010

First of all, if you are a cyclist, runner, backpacker or engage in any other activity that puts you in harms way, I highly recommend getting yourself a Road ID.  I’m plugging this because it is what is allowing me to post right now.  LM wants to be held, but I have things to do before DH gets back from his bike ride and I can go out on mine…I am all dressed to ride and she loves the Road ID so she is sitting in my lap fiddling with it while I type.  Yay.

Although LM’s sleep schedule is getting worse (waking up once or twice per night, every night, to nurse), I actually slept long enough last night to get into a dreaming sleep, and I had the first dream I can remember in weeks, if not months.  It involved a Fiat (or some similar Euro/clown car), a riptide, the Walnut street bridge in Roselle, NJ, and (something a pop-music-hating friend has dubbed) the Bieber Cannon…in other words, it was as weird as my dreams have always been.

I used to dream a LOT in college.  This corresponds with the (now delightfully decadent-seeming) amount of sleep I got during those years, and my creative writing urges.  My wacky dreams were one of my main sources of inspiration for my poems, with their disjointed, sometimes gory imagery.  I never felt that they were nightmares, but they served me well as a writer.  I looked for a particular poem to post but it must have been from my junior year and I can’t find that portfolio right now.  This is a poem from my senior portfolio:

I Dream of Glass Music

 

Clustered tight within

unlikely sections, we

cradle our candy dishes,

vases, champagne flutes

and tune to a high G#.

 

Every tone carries like

the wet rim of a wine glass

and the overture plays

like fifty wailing widows,

pulling hair and sighing.

 

My crystal cornucopia

carries the opening fanfare

through a crescendo and

at the movement’s climax,

our instruments shudder.

 

Slivers of glass finer than

eyelashes puncture corneas

and puckered lips, the songs

of anguish hardly different

from the music they replace.

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 8, 2010 5:37 am

    Could she be cold? Audrey started waking up more in the wee hours of the morning because we leave our windows open at night so the house cools off and we don’t need to use the A/C as much. Anyway, I realized that she was cold when she was waking up so we made sure to dress her more warmly and last night she slept the whole way through. I don’t know if it will help or not, but I thought I’d mention it.

Leave a Reply

