Skip to content

Potpourri II (or, blog like a box of chocolates)

October 16, 2010

When I was in Illinois, I was at my dad’s favorite breakfast restaurant with the whole family, when I saw a couple with two young children, including a son about one year old, wearing the much-maligned Old Navy ‘Formula Powered’ onesie.  I whispered to DH when I spotted it, and my aunt (who is recovering from a double mastectomy and is still in chemo, which I blame for her paranoia) started squawking “What are you saying?!  What?”  So I rehashed the whole debate, and gave them my position that I don’t believe it was a deliberate move on the part of Old Navy to undermine breast feeding, but that it certainly represents the normalization of an unnatural and inferior method of feeding babies in our culture.  DH busied himself with his pumpkin pancakes and everyone else stared at me, except for LM who was happily blowing raspberries (love her!).  I’m pretty sure this is the episode that prompted my father, on my last day there, to tell me that I seemed to be doing a wonderful job raising my daughter, even if I seem to be “borderline overthinking the whole parenthood thing.”   I refrained from pointing out that surfing through parenthood, alternating between absence and (sometimes violent) reactivity certainly didn’t work so well for him.  But my dad has been saying things like this my entire life, so I just smile and thank him for his version of a compliment.

Listening to NPR today, they did a piece on memoirs, and discussed the just-released book by Justin Bieber.  How can a 16 year old boy write an autobiography longer than about 20 pages?  ZZzzzzzzz.  This kid annoys me, I just have to say.  I can only hope that in 10, 20, 30 years he will look back at this book and use it to realize how much he has grown as a person, from the effeminate, overhyped human larvae that he is now.  I mean, he named the book “First Step 2 Forever”!!  This is the sort of thing I dread about having a daughter, that mindless celebrity adoration and mini posters of teen pop idols.  Don’t get me wrong, I thought David Boreanez as Angel in Buffy the Vampire Slayer was soooo dreamy when I was in high school (and I still like to watch him in Bones, from time to time) but I never pretended he was my ‘boyfriend’ or my ‘husband’.  Vomit.

We are getting LM’s 6 months photos taken tomorrow morning, by the same amazing photographer who did her photos at 12 days and put together her birth announcement.  I can’t believe my baby girl is almost half a year old!  She is so happy and sweet, and I’m going to miss her gummy smiles when she starts growing teeth here in a few weeks.  LM is such a big component of my happiness with life in general (more on that in a future post) and I totally adore her.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

