Skip to content

Potpourri (or, playing blog catch-up)

September 15, 2010

Confession: I had to google ‘potpourri’ to figure out how to spell it…I forgot there is a ‘t’ in it, so Mirriam Webster couldn’t even help me when I typed in pourporri, porpourri or poporee (just as an experiment).  I hate phonetically invisible letters, like the ‘r’ in sarsaparilla.

My Grammy passed away on Sunday morning, and I haven’t been in the mood to blog since then.  I was out on my bicycle when my mom called, and as soon as I looked at the caller id on my phone I knew what had happened.  So, I stopped, picked up the phone, and sat on a curb alongside a busy road while my mother briefly described how she and her younger brother had given Grammy a bath that morning, sang some of her favorite hymns, told her they loved her, and then watched her take her last breath.  I sobbed into my cycling gloves, and a security guard from the shopping center I was sitting in front of pulled up to ask if I was ok, and I waved her away.  The memorial service will be on Sept 25, and since I will be taking her on a 10 day trip a week later, I am going to do a quick turnaround trip of just under 48 hours, leaving LM at home with DH and a freezer shelf full of frozen breast milk.

LM got her first taste of “solid” food the other night.  DH had been keen to try her, even though she is not quite 5 months old, but I put it off because she has not been showing interest in our food or grabbing at utensils, which are signs that a baby is ready.  Well, she started grabbing cups and utensils, so I decided we could give it a try.  I’d roasted a small sweet potato while making lactation cookies, and kept it in the fridge.  I scooped out about a tablespoon into a ramekin, expressed about two tablespoons of breast milk into the potato and mashed it together.  We put LM in her Bumbo chair, with a bib, and DH had at it with the little plastic baby spoon.  She must be ready because she had very little of the push-out reflex, but rather opened her mouth like an eager baby bird, and swallowed almost all of the food.  What food did make it back out of her mouth was as a result of her hand going in and pulling it out; she doesn’t seem to be able to control that hand yet, silly baby.

Whatcha think of that, huh?

I’ve been thinking (or forced to think, in some cases) about personal choice recently, mostly in the context of child rearing.  I knew that people have opinions about how babies and children should be cared for, but until I had LM, I did not realize how vehement or downright aggressive people will get when discussing the topic. Advice and methods are constantly changing, and older mothers always want to tell you what worked for them, and all the up-to-the-minute research wants to sound like it is the  correct way of doing things and if you deviate then you are a BAD MOTHER.  Even casual comments can make a first-time mother feel like a failure.  A second-time mother at our mom/baby group summed it up nicely and just assured all of us first-timers that doing what feels right and comfortable for you and your family is pretty much always the right answer in terms of caring for your baby.  Wise, and true, but easy to forget when some insensitive douchebag derides your decision to breast feed (“are you going to do that til he’s in college?”) or wear your baby or co-sleep.  I am so thankful for the group of mamas I have gotten to know through the birth center, who might all have slightly different viewpoints but are respectful of each other’s choices.

Last but not least, another one of our hens died over the weekend.  That brings us down to two layers and three pullets, who won’t start laying for another 4 to 8 weeks.  DH is already talking about getting two or three more, and I am on board with that plan.  We don’t know why Colleen (the hen) died, but we hope no more follow suit in the near future.

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 16, 2010 4:55 am

    I’m glad LM liked her first taste of solid food. Audrey will still sometimes reach in and pull something out if it feels really interesting so good luck with that one.

    Other than that, it sounds like you’ve had a rough week. Let me know if there is anything I can do to help.

Leave a Reply

