Skip to content

Fruit of My Womb (or, look out world, here comes LM!)

August 31, 2010

As promised, I am starting things off with a post about LM, my four month old daughter.  “My daughter” is a phrase that still gives me shivers to say, type or even think.  I have trouble believing sometimes that I really really made a real live person…she grew in my belly, separated herself from me in a (comparatively) fairly pleasant fashion, and will someday wander off into the world completely independent from me.  I’m told it won’t even be that long until that happens, though right now it still feels like we are connected by an invisible umbilical cord, made up primarily of sounds.  Loud ones, usually.

In four short months, she has progressed from uber-tumor:

to not-so-squashed-tomato newborn:

to contemplating the rich language and post-modern themes of the epic novel, “Shaky Tiger”:

And I am continually amazed at her discovery of the world around her.  She gets frustrated sometimes when she wants to do something but simply can’t figure out how to make it happen.  Like all new mothers, I get frustrated sometimes as well, but then she flashes me a gummy smile and all is right with the world.

You may have noticed the cluttered nightstand in the background of her newborn picture…though I doubt anyone reading this doesn’t know, I’ll just throw it out there:  LM was born at home.  And it was amazing.  In a future post I will tell her birth story the way I’ve always wanted to tell it (i.e. fully and with amusing narrative comments), and get on my little soapbox about how the Western medical model has pathologized childbirth, to the detriment of mothers and babies.  But for right now, I just want to introduce you to LM, the metaphorical center of my universe.  Isn’t she adorable?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

